Entry to the Travel Media Awards 2017, in association with ENIT – Italian National Tourist Board, has now closed. The finalists will be announced on 04 September 2017, with the Awards returning to the ME London Hotel on the night of Wednesday 18 October.

On this page you’ll find the award categories and details of eligibility of entry. If you need to contact us to discuss any element of your award entry, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Check the Category section to see what supporting materials and work you are required to submit for your entry and the format you are required to submit them in.

See General Information for requirements that apply to all entries.

Remember you must provide comprehensive contact details for yourself.

If you are submitting work in the Young Travel Writer award category, please remember to add your date of birth to your submission.

Nominees submitting PHOTOGRAPHY or work published in PRINT or ONLINE should clearly state the date of publication and the publication or website in which the work was published.

Nominees submitting work published in any BROADCAST medium should clearly state the medium and channel in which the broadcast was made, together with the date of the broadcast.


  • Supporting material and work for your entry, as specified on the Category page
  • Contact details, including Twitter handle (if available)
  • Indication of the date of publication/broadcast and publication, channel or website that carried the work
  • Date of Birth for nominees entering the Young Travel Writer of the Year

Work samples should be emailed where possible.

Please note: if any work samples have to be mailed, they will not be returned unless an appropriately sized self-addressed stamped mailer is provided. APL Media will not be responsible for any damaged or lost works.

Easy ways to submit your work:
• Email: entry@travelmediaawards.com
• Mail: samples of work to Natalie Jackson at APL Media, Unit 310, Highgate Studios, 53-79 Highgate Road, London, NW5 1TL

You can view details of the judging process and judges here.

The decision of the judges is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

Finalists in all awards categories will be notified by 04 September.

  • ‘Work’ is an article, feature, blog, vlog, photograph, broadcast, publication, travel book or website in any category that you wish to enter.
  • Work submitted must have been published in the UK in print or online, or if broadcast, aired on television, radio or online between 1 June 2016 – 18 May 2017
  • Work submitted must show the date and name of the medium in which it was published.
  • Individual pieces of work may be entered in more than one category.
  • A travel article is defined as a piece of writing about travel products, topics or destinations that is published in a publication – newspaper, magazine or online.
  • A travel feature is defined as a piece of writing or broadcasting that concentrates on a particular travel related subject or destination.
  • A travel blogger is defined as a writer who has at least one year of regular travel blogging.
  • A travel vlogger is defined as a writer/journalist who has at least one year of regular travel vlogging.
  • The closing date for submissions of work is 18 May 2017.
  • The decision of the judging panels is final. No correspondence will be entered into.
  • The Awards organisers reserve the right to amend or withdraw a category or categories from the Awards, should in their opinion alone there be insufficient entries.
  • Entry to the Awards signifies your acceptance of all terms and conditions as stipulated.
The Judging Process

The Travel Media Awards recognise the importance of an impartial judging process for all 20 categories on offer.

We have an obligation to ensure the judging process is fair, independent and transparent. Accordingly, details of all judges will be made available on the awards site.

Judging is undertaken against a proven scoring system, with strict criteria for each category, details of which are also published on the Awards website. The judging panel for each category will comprise two senior travel industry personnel alongside an established travel editor, writer or broadcaster. Media judges will only assess non-conflicting categories. Over 25% of travel industry judges will be new to the Awards this year, while no judge who took part in the 2016 awards will judge the same category again in 2017.

In categories where high numbers of entries necessitate first-stage shortlisting, we use the services of impartial non-travel editors, sub-editors and journalists, whose details can be found here. The shortlist of finalists will then be sent to the judging panels to decide on the overall winner.

You can find the full list of judges and shortlisters on our Judges page

01 March: Entries Open

Entries should be submitted before 18 May for consideration. Browse the categories and entry criteria section and find out how to enter now.

04 September: Finalists Announced

Judging finishes and the finalists of the Travel Media Awards will be announced.

18 May: Closing Date for Submissions

The awards close for entry and judges begin reviewing submissions.

18 October: Awards Ceremony

The winners of the Travel Media Awards 2017 will be presented with their awards at a prestigious ceremony taking place at ME London Hotel.