Enter the Awards 2018-03-05T10:38:16+00:00

The Travel Media Awards 2018, in association with Malta Tourism Authority, is now open for entries. Entrants can submit work in 20 categories covering a wide range travel media sectors, and entry is free of charge.

On this page you’ll find the award categories and details of eligibility of entry. If you need to contact us to discuss any element of your award entry, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Entries are open until 18 May 2018.

Check the Category section to see what supporting materials and work you are required to submit for your entry and the format you are required to submit them in.

See General Information for requirements that apply to all entries.

Remember you must provide comprehensive contact details for yourself.

If you are submitting work in the Young Travel Writer award category, please remember to add your date of birth to your submission.

Nominees submitting PHOTOGRAPHY or work published in PRINT or ONLINE should clearly state the date of publication and the publication or website in which the work was published.

Nominees submitting work published in any BROADCAST medium should clearly state the medium and channel in which the broadcast was made, together with the date of the broadcast.


  • Supporting material and work for your entry, as specified on the Category page
  • Contact details, including Twitter handle (if available)
  • Indication of the date of publication/broadcast and publication, channel or website that carried the work
  • Date of Birth for nominees entering the Young Travel Writer of the Year

Work samples should be emailed where possible.

Please note: if any work samples have to be mailed, they will not be returned unless an appropriately sized self-addressed stamped mailer is provided. APL Media will not be responsible for any damaged or lost works.

Easy ways to submit your work:
• Email: entry@travelmediaawards.com
• Mail: samples of work to Natalie Jackson at APL Media, Unit 310, Highgate Studios, 53-79 Highgate Road, London, NW5 1TL

You can view details of the judging process and judges here.

The decision of the judges is final. No correspondence will be entered into.

Finalists in all awards categories will be notified by 03 September.

  • ‘Work’ is an article, feature, blog, vlog, photograph, broadcast, publication, travel book or website in any category that you wish to enter.
  • Work submitted must have been published in the UK in print or online, or if broadcast, aired on television, radio or online between 1 June 2017 – 18 May 2018
  • Work submitted must show the date and name of the medium in which it was published.
  • Individual pieces of work may be entered in more than one category.
  • A travel article is defined as a piece of writing about travel products, topics or destinations that is published in a publication – newspaper, magazine or online.
  • A travel feature is defined as a piece of writing or broadcasting that concentrates on a particular travel related subject or destination.
  • A travel blogger is defined as a writer who has at least one year of regular travel blogging.
  • A travel vlogger is defined as a writer/journalist who has at least one year of regular travel vlogging.
  • The closing date for submissions of work is 18 May 2018.
  • The decision of the judging panels is final. No correspondence will be entered into.
  • The Awards organisers reserve the right to amend or withdraw a category or categories from the Awards, should in their opinion alone there be insufficient entries.
  • Entry to the Awards signifies your acceptance of all terms and conditions as stipulated.
The Judging Process

The Travel Media Awards recognise the importance of an impartial judging process for all 20 award categories.

The Awards have an obligation to everyone who enters to ensure that the judging process is independent, fair and transparent.

Judging is undertaken against a proven scoring system, with strict entry criteria for each of the 20 award categories. Entry criteria are available to view on the awards website here.

Each category is judged by a panel of three individuals, comprised of two leading travel industry personnel alongside an established travel editor or writer. In total more than 50 judges from leading travel businesses and travel media will judge the 2018 awards. Details of all judges can be found here.

As part of our ongoing commitment to the judging process no one individual will judge the same category as in 2017, with 1 in 4 judges to the 2018 Awards being first time judges, allowing for all entries to be reviewed from a fresh perspective. Media judges will only be allocated non-conflicting categories.

In categories where very high entry levels necessitate first stage shortlisting we utilise the services of totally impartial non travel editors, sub editors and writers. The shortlist of finalists is then provided to the category judging panel to decide on the award winner.

01 March: Entries Open

Entries should be submitted before 18 May for consideration. Browse the categories and entry criteria section and find out how to enter now.

03 September: Finalists Announced

Judging finishes and the finalists of the Travel Media Awards will be announced.

18 May: Closing Date for Submissions

The awards close for entry and judges begin reviewing submissions.

17 October: Awards Ceremony

The winners of the Travel Media Awards 2018 will be presented with their awards at a prestigious ceremony taking place at ME London Hotel.