The Finalists

Following extensive deliberation by panels of industry and media judges, the Travel Media Awards are delighted to announce the 2020 finalists.

A big thank you to all those who entered. We look forward to announcing the winners at a virtual awards ceremony on 25 January.

Blogger/Vlogger of the Year
Anywhere We Roam – Paul Healy & Mark Barnes
Borders of Adventure – Becki Enright
Joe Allam
The Girl Outdoors – Sian Lewis
Weekend Candy – Claire Robinson

Breaking Travel News
Francesca Street, CNN Travel
James Chapple, TTG
John Walton, Lonely Planet
Julia Buckley, CNN Travel
Rory Boland, Which?

Travel Broadcast Programme of the Year – TV, radio, online or podcast
Earth Cycle – on Amazon Prime
From Our Own Correspondent – Trobriand Islands: a passion for cricket for BBC Radio 4
Insight Guides: The Travel Podcast – ‘Discovering the Fez Medina’ on Soundcloud
Wander Woman: ‘The Sound of Silence’ – on Buzzsprout
Would you visit Fukushima? for The Telegraph

Consumer Magazine Section of the Year
Harper’s Bazaar
Town & Country
Vanity Fair

Consumer Publication of the Year – Online
BBC Travel
The Independent
Lonely Planet

Consumer Publication of the Year – Print
Lonely Planet
Suitcase Magazine
Sunday Times Travel Magazine
Travel Africa

Consumer Writer of the Year
Alicia Miller, Sunday Times Travel Magazine
Jamie Lafferty, Financial Times and National Geographic Traveller
Michelle Jana Chan, Vanity Fair and The Telegraph
Mike Unwin, Travel Africa and The Telegraph
Oliver Berry, Lonely Planet

Customer Magazine
Audley Traveller
Easyjet Traveller
Kuoni Magazine
Selamata for Ethopian Airlines
Vera for Virgin Atlantic

Guide of the Year – Book, online, app
Bradt Guides Italy Fruili Venezia Giulia
Bradt Guides Slow Somerset
Curious Travel Guides Lost in Florence
Lonely Planet Saudi Arabia
Scotland Beyond the Bagpipes by Helen Ochyra

National Broadsheet Newspaper Section
The Guardian
Sunday Times Travel
The Telegraph
The Times

National Tabloid Newspaper Section
Daily Star Sunday
The Sun
The Sun on Sunday
Sunday Mirror

National Consumer Feature of the Year
Anthony Sattin for ‘Wanderland’ in 1843
Dan Richards for ‘My Search for the Real Moominland’ in 1843
Joey Tyson for ‘Touching the Heavens in Tigray, Ethiopia’ in Suitcase Magazine
Monisha Rajesh for ‘The Godfather of Trains’ in The Guardian
Oliver Smith for ‘Frontierland’ in Lonely Planet

Photography Award
Bella Falk
Francesco Lastrucci
Graeme Green
Lisa Young
Renato Granieri

  Regional Publication Feature of the Year
Cathy Adams for ‘Slow down South’ in London Evening Standard
Helen Warwick for ‘City of Surprises’ in Cheshire Life
Ian Belcher for ‘What Lies Beneath’ in Brummell Magazine
Lizzie Pook for ‘Trailing the Snow Leopard in Mountainous Ladakh’ in London Evening Standard
Sarah Marshall for ‘Time to Tell the Real Story of Sierra Leone’ in The Press

Specialist Travel Writer of the Year
Ian Belcher, African wildlife
Jamie Lafferty, Polar regions
Jessica Vincent, food
Jez Fredenburgh, food and drink
Sarah Reid, emerging destinations

Sustainability Feature of the Year
Cristian Bonetto for ‘Now the floods are over, here’s how to make a positive impact on your trip to Venice’ in Lonely Planet
Jo Rhodes for ‘British Airways emitting more carbon than rival airlines’ in Which? Travel
Lauren Jarvis for ‘Making Travel Matter’ in Selling Travel
Michelle Jana Chan for ‘The wild, empty safari destination you must visit before the crowds arrive’ in The Telegraph
Paul Bloomfield for ‘The Arctic: a new port of call?’ in BBC Wildlife

Trade Feature of the Year
James Draven for ‘Ahead for Heights’ in TTG
Jonathan Thompson for ‘Making a Splash’ in Cruise Adviser
Lauren Jarvis for ‘Making Travel Matter’ in Selling Travel
Rebecca Barnes for ‘From Russia With Love’ in Cruise Adviser
Sue Watt for ‘Game Changing’ in TTG Luxury

Trade Writer of the Year
James Chapple, TTG
James Draven, TTG
Jeannine Williamson, Selling Travel
Jennifer Morris, TTG
Lauren Jarvis, Selling Travel and Selling Canada

Trade Publication of the Year – Online
Future Cruise

Trade Publication of the Year – Print
ABTA Magazine
The Business Travel Magazine
Selling Travel
TTG Luxury

Young Writer of the Year
Emily Frost, Lonely Planet
Florence Derrick, The Telegraph and Vera
Greg Dickinson, The Telegraph
Katie Gatens, Atlas and Vera
Lottie Gross, The Telegraph