The Judging Process

The Travel Media Awards recognise the importance of an impartial judging process for all 20 award categories.

The Awards has an obligation to everyone who enters to ensure that the judging process is independent, fair and transparent. Judging is undertaken against a proven scoring system, with strict entry criteria for each of the 21 award categories. Entry criteria are available to view on the awards website here.

Each category is judged by a panel of three, comprised of two leading travel industry personnel alongside an established travel editor or writer. In total, 60 judges from leading travel businesses and travel media will judge the 2021 awards. Details of all judges can be found below.

As part of our ongoing commitment to the judging process, none of the judges will be given the same category they assessed in 2020. Furthermore, one in four judges of the 2021 Awards will be first-time judges, allowing the entries to be reviewed from a fresh perspective. Media judges will only be allocated non-conflicting categories.

In categories where very high entry levels necessitate first stage shortlisting we utilise the services of totally impartial non-travel editors, sub-editors and writers. The shortlist of finalists is then provided to the category judging panel to decide on the award winner.

Who will be judging

Adrian Phillips, Managing Director, Bradt Travel Guides
Alicia Miller, Freelance Travel Writer
Amanda Humble, Sales and Marketing Director, Bespoke Hotels
Andrew Davies, Sales and Marketing Manager, Dolphin Dynamics
Andy Hoskins, Editor-in-Chief, BTN Europe at BTN Group
Betsie Barr, Trade Manager, Tourism Authority of Thailand
Bev Fearis, Editor, The Business Travel Magazine
Beverley Williams-Smith, Head of Sales & Partnership UK & Inbound at Kew Green Hotels
Brian Young, Managing Director — EMEA, G Adventures
Charlotte Civil, PR & Media Manager, The Vertical Group
Chris Townson, Managing Director UK & Ireland, Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Colin Stewart, Country Director, UK & Ireland, Air Europa
Darija Reic, Director UK Representative Office, Croatian National Tourist Board
David Child, Head of Brand and PR, Thomas Cook
David Powell, Editor, Your Holiday & Cruise Magazine
Dawn Page, Director UK & Northern Europe, Hong Kong Tourist Board
Debbie Marshall, Founder, Silver Travel Advisor
Diane Glover, Marketing Manager, The Beatles Story
Ed Grenby, Travel Editor, Radio Times
Eric Hallerberg, Vice President EMEA Sales, Oracle Hospitality
Erin Johnson, Marketing Director, Tailormade
Francine Sheridan, Regional Director Europe & Middle East, Los Angeles Tourism & Convention Board
Gareth Hulmston, Sales Director, Lusso Travel
Helen Leighton, Vice President Communications, Marriott International
Jacqui Cleaver, Head of Communications and Business Development, Protected Trust Services
James Lewis, Head of Partnerships, Holiday Extras
James Manning, International Editor, Time Out Group
James Mundy, PR & Partnerships Manager, Inside Travel Group – InsideJapan and InsideAsia
James Treacy, PR and Communications Manager, Abercrombie & Kent
Julie Hastings, Marketing Director, Hastings Hotels
Julie Murphy, Country Sales Manager UK & Ireland, All Nippon Airlines
Karen Musgrave, PR & Communications Manager, Barrhead Travel
Kelly Cookes, Leisure Director, Advantage Travel Partnership
Kgomotso Ramothea, Marketing and Communications Manager, South African Tourism
Laura Lindsay, Head of Consumer Comms & PR, Skyscanner
Linsey McNeil, Co-editor, Travel Gossip
Lisa James, Freelance Travel Writer
Lucy Halfhead, Group Luxury Travel Director, Hearst Magazines UK
Magdalena Osmola, Marketing Director, Vale do Lobo
Mara Van Rees, Head of Media and PR UK & Ireland, German National Tourist Office
Maria Thuesen Bleeg, PR and Press Manager (UK), VisitDenmark
Mark Boullé, Managing Director, Beachcomber Tours
Melanie Jones, Senior Manager Northern & South Western Europe, Singapore Tourism Board
Michael Keating, CEO, Ink
Natalie Eales, Head of PR, Unique Vacations (UK) Ltd
Nikki Stimson, Senior Director Corporate Communications & PR, Trip Actions
Pete Brudenell, Head of Marketing, CV Villas
Richard Hammond, Executive Producer & Founder, Green Traveller
Rosie Paterson, Lifestyle Editor, Country Life at Future
Sam Ballard, Managing Director, Waterfront Publishing
Sarah Wilson, Vice President PR & Media Relations, Accor Northern Europe
Steve Hartridge, Editorial Director, BMI Publishing
Tolene Van Der Merwe, Director UK & Ireland, Malta Tourism Authority
Tony Lincoln, European Sales & Marketing Director, Planet Hollywood
Tricia Handley, UK Director, Inteletravel UK Ltd
Uwern Jong, Founder & Editor-in-Chief, OutThere
Zina Bencheikh, Managing Director EMEA, Intrepid Group