Celebrating the best of the travel media sector, Awards now open for entry

1 March 2018, London: The Travel Media Awards 2018, in association with Malta Tourism Authority, is now open for entries. Celebrating and recognising the hugely influential role travel media plays in the holiday and business travel decision-making process, the awards are renowned for rewarding editorial excellence, and are judged by panels of high-profile travel industry and media personnel.

New categories this year include Breaking Travel News, rewarding the importance of travel media in keeping us informed of the state of the industry; and Social Photography celebrating new media in the market.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said: “The team is really excited about the launch of the this year’s Travel Media Awards and hopes to build on the very positive feedback received from last year’s entrants, sponsors and guests alike. We’re confident of attracting more entries this year and look forward to showcasing the very best travel media in the UK at our fabulous venue, the ME London hotel on Wednesday 17 October.”

Matthew Jackson, joint co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media Limited, said: “Today’s travel media is consistently finding new ways to bring destinations to life and these Awards are in recognition of the exceptional talent behind the bylines, photos, broadcasts and stories — we are unique in celebrating the quality of the talent in the travel media industry.”

Categories cover a wide range of disciplines and media, including: national newspaper travel sections, with separate categories for tabloid and broadsheets; consumer travel magazines; travel trade titles; and the increasingly influential travel blogging and vlogging sectors.

Submissions will be judged by some of the UK’s most influential travel industry figures, alongside leading travel writers and editors. More than 50 judges will determine the winners of the 2018 Awards.

Key dates for the 2018 Travel Media Awards:

1 March: Entries open
18 May: Entries close
3 September: Finalists are announced
17 October: Awards ceremony at ME London, 336-337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA

For more information, please visit or contact:
T: 0203 818 5600
E: [email protected]

Notes for Editors

The 2017 awards received more than 700 entries, and culminated in a glittering awards ceremony attended by some 300 travel media and industry professionals. The event also saw chef and TV presenter Rick Stein receive the Special Contribution Award.

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015, celebrating the very best of the travel media sector. Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the Awards are a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards are owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited.

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites.

Travega offers a wide range of travel marketing and sales solutions for both the leisure and business travel sectors. These include delivering sponsorship revenues for some of the leading events in the UK travel industry, alongside third party management of events for other leading travel brands.