The Travel Media Awards 2021 is now open for entry. The only UK national awards recognising excellence and achievement within all forms of the travel media, the winners will be announced at a ceremony at Kimpton Fitzroy London Hotel on Monday 18 October.

Now in its seventh year, these prestigious accolades are respected and trusted throughout the industry thanks to a rigorous judging process. The 20 categories, which together cover all travel media sectors include National Broadsheet Newspaper Section, Travel Broadcast Programme of the Year, Breaking Travel News, Sustainability Feature of the Year and the Photography Award. There’s also the coveted Special Contribution Award, which last year went to adventurer, author and photographer Levison Wood. Entry is free and the winner in each category will be decided by a panel of travel industry and media judges, ensuring the very best get the recognition they deserve.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said, “After a hugely challenging last 12 months, but now at a time when some very real hope exists for the travel industry and travel media we are delighted to launch the 7th annual Travel Media Awards.

“Of course, the 2020 awards were held virtually as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, but given recent news we look forward to welcoming everyone to the Kimpton Fitzroy London Hotel on the evening of Monday 18 October. Entry to the awards remains free of charge, and in conjunction with the events advisory board have revisited the entry criteria for all award categories, and welcome entries from all cross sections of the travel media. We look forward to receiving entries, and to meeting up again in October.”

Matthew Jackson, joint co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media Limited, said: “The event continues to shine the spotlight on the exceptional talent in the travel media industry, and after a difficult year we are really looking forward to celebrating the considerable achievements of the very best of travel media.”

The awards are judged by some of the UK’s most influential travel figures from a wide cross section of the industry, alongside travel editors and writers; unique to the Travel Media Awards is its commitment that 25% of all judges are new to the awards, and that no one judges the same category year on year.

Key dates for the 2021 Travel Media Awards:

 1 March — awards open for entries
7 May — entries close
6 September — finalists announced
13 September — recipient of Special Contribution Award announced
18 October — awards ceremony takes place