Celebrating the best of the travel media sector

The Travel Media Awards, in association with Malta Tourism Authority, has announced this year’s finalists.

The standard this year has again been exceptionally high, and an expert judging panel comprising of over 60 travel editors, writers and industry professionals have worked hard to reduce the hundreds of entries received to a shortlist representing the very best of travel journalism, photography and broadcasting.

There are 102 finalists across 20 categories, covering all areas of travel media, including print and online media, broadcasting, blogging and photography.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said: “This is one of the most exciting moments of the Awards, and we extend our congratulations to all the finalists. It’s been particularly exciting to see a significant number of entries in our two new categories — Breaking Travel News and Social Photographer of the Year — a reflection of the fast-paced, ever-changing face of our industry.”

“A special congratulations also goes to Lisa Minot, Travel Editor of The Sun, who will be the recipient of the Special Contribution Award at this year’s Awards.”

Matthew Jackson, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media, said: “We’re thrilled for this year’s finalists. It’s such a huge achievement, especially in another year of consistently high standards. We’re now turning our attention to 17 October, when we’ll be announcing the winners of some of the most prestigious awards in travel.”

The finalists are as follows:

Blogger of the Year
The Discoveries Of – Julianna Barnaby (thediscoveriesof.com)
globalhelpswap – Paul Farrugia  (globalhelpswap.com)
The Girl Outdoors – Sian Lewis (thegirloutdoors.com)
Luxury Columnist – Suze Renner (luxurycolumnist.com)
Amsterdam Wonderland – Tracy Abraham (amsterdamwonderland.com)

Breaking Travel News
Greg Dickinson for ‘Self-boarding is here — but do you feel safe getting on a plane without any human checks?’ for The Telegraph
James Draven for ‘Tourism in Antarctica: what does it mean for the world’s last great wilderness?’ for National Geographic Traveller
Nada Farhoud for ‘Ryanair’s dirty tricks’ for Daily Mirror
Guy Hobbs for ‘Grand theft auto’ for Which? Travel
Jo Rhodes for ‘Hurry! Sale won’t end soon’ for Which? Travel

Broadcast Programme of the Year – TV, Radio, Online
Colt St George for ‘5 reasons you need to visit Islay’ for Rough Guides
Juliet Rix for ‘From our own correspondent – Nunavut’ for BBC Radio 4
Dawn Lake and Joanne Whalley for ‘Seeing the world without sight’ for BBC Travel Show
Phoebe Smith for ‘From our own correspondent – Vultures in Nepal’ for
BBC Radio 4
Shafik Meghiji for ‘The Rough Guide to Everywhere’ for Rough Guides

Consumer Magazine Section of the Year
Harper’s Bazaar
Sainsbury’s Magazine

Consumer Publication of the Year – Online
BBC Travel
Lonely Planet Travel News
Telegraph Travel

Consumer Publication of the Year – Print
Condé Nast Traveller
Family Traveller
The Sunday Times Travel Magazine
Which? Travel
Lonely Planet Traveller

Consumer Writer of the Year
Adrian Philips, freelance travel writer
Alicia Miller, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine
David Whitley, freelance travel writer
Mandi Keighran, Ink Publishing
Simon Parker, freelance travel writer

Customer Magazine of the Year
Atlas by Etihad
Audley Traveller
easyJet Traveller
N by Norwegian

Guide of the Year – Book, Online, App
Berlitz Cruising & Cruise Ships 2018
Lonely Planet’s Best in Travel 2018
52 European Wildlife Weekends (Bradt Travel Guide), by James Lowen
England’s South Coast (DK Eyewitness Travel)
The Girl Outdoors, by Sian Lewis

National Broadsheet Newspaper Section
The Telegraph
The Guardian
The Sunday Telegraph
The Sunday Times

National Consumer Feature of the Year
Jamie Lafferty for ‘Papua New Guinea: Behind the mask’ for National Geographic Traveller
Jon Holmes for ‘A bicycle made for brews’ for The Sunday Times
Michelle Jana Chan for ‘Primal green’ for Vanity Fair
Phoebe Smith for ‘Eastern promise’ for Wanderlust
Stephen Bleach for ‘High stakes’ for The Sunday Times

National Tabloid Newspaper Section
Daily Mail – Travel
Daily Mirror – Travel
Metro – Escape
Sunday Mirror – Travel
Mail on Sunday – Travel
The Sun – Travel

Photography Award
Alex Robinson for ‘Peace time’ for The Sunday Times
Ewen Bell for ‘Shetland Islands’ for National Geographic Traveller
Jonathan Gregson for ‘Across Patagonia’ for Lonely Planet Traveller
Kris Davidson for ‘Californian Deserts’ for National Geographic Traveller
Tom Parker for ‘Silver Linings’ for Condé Nast Traveller

Regional Publication Feature of the Year
Cathy Adams for ‘Hit the road in laid-back Taiwan’ for Evening Standard
Ian Belcher for ‘Horse power’ for Brummell
Jonathan Thompson for ‘Make mine a Scottish mini break’ for Metro
Richard Mellor for ‘Welcome to the country that doesn’t exist’ for Metro
Sue Watt for ‘Why you should visit Sierra Leone to experience the world’s most worthwhile marathon’ for Evening Standard

Social Photographer
Joe Allam
Lola Akimade Åkerström
Suzanne Jones
Suze Renner
Victoria Brewood

Trade Feature of the Year
Daniel Allen for ‘Mother of rivers’ for Cruise Adviser
Larry Pryce for ‘And all that jazz’ for TTG
Mike Unwin for ‘Lviv a little’ for Other Shores
Pippa Jacks for ‘Tales from Tanzania’ for TTG
Sam Ballard for ‘Generation game’ for Cruise Adviser

Trade Publication of the Year – Print & Online
Cruise Adviser
European Spa Magazine
Selling Travel
The Business Travel Magazine

Trade Writer of the Year
Abra Dunsby-Sircana, TTG
Heather Richardson, freelance travel writer
Madeleine Barber, TTG
Sam Ballard, Waterfront Publishing
Sophie Griffiths, TTG

Vlogger of the Year
Garlen Lo for Modern Grand Tour with Garlen Lo
Farrukh Younus for Implausibleblog
Joe Allam for Joe Allam
David Reilly for Life of Reilly
Cathy Bartrop for Travelguru.tv

Young Writer of the Year
Amelia Duggan, freelance travel writer
Jack Palfrey, Lonely Planet
Lauren Bravo, freelance writer
Olivia Squire, Suitcase
Zara Sekhavati, freelance travel writer

Special Contribution Award
Lisa Minot, Travel Editor, The Sun

The Travel Media Awards looks forward to welcoming all shortlisted entrants to the ceremony on Wednesday 17 October 2018 at ME London Hotel.

Tickets now available: http://travelmediaawards.com/tickets

Key dates for the 2018 Travel Media Awards:
17 October: Awards ceremony at ME London, 336-33 Strand, London WC2R 1HA

For more information and tickets, please visit travelmediaawards.com or contact:
T: 020 3818 5600
E: [email protected]


Notes for Editors

The 2017 awards received more than 700 entries, and culminated in a glittering awards ceremony attended by some 300 travel media and industry professionals. The event also saw chef and TV presenter Rick Stein receive the Special Contribution Award.

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015, celebrating the very best of the travel media sector. Free of charge to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers to enter, the Awards are a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards are owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited. travelmediaawards.com

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites. aplmedia.co.uk

Travega offers a wide range of marketing solutions within both the leisure and business travel sectors, including revenue generation for some of the UK’s leading travel industry events, alongside bespoke partner event creation and third party event management. travega.co.uk