The Travel Media Awards, in association with Malta Tourism Authority, have announced this year’s finalists.

After a record number of entries, the judges have had an even tougher job picking the finalists for this year’s Travel Media Awards. The judging panel, made up of some 60 judges, writers and industry professionals, has now whittled down over 900 entries to compile a shortlist representing the very best of travel journalism, photography and broadcasting.

There are 100 finalists across 20 categories, covering all areas of travel media, including print and online media, broadcasting, blogging and photography.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said: “For me, this is one of the most exciting moments of the awards, the announcement of the finalists across our 20 award categories. This year has seen yet another increase in entry levels, with the newly introduced category of Specialist Travel Writer attracting more than 100 entries alone. Just being shortlisted is an achievement in itself, so many congratulations to all the finalists.”

Matthew Jackson, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media, said: “We’re all looking forward to seeing who picks up the awards for each category. The awards ceremony, on 21 October at the five-star Landmark London hotel, is going to be a fantastic night.”

The finalists are as follows:

Blogger/Vlogger of the Year
Grand Dishes – Anastasia Miari (
Modern Grand Tour with Garlen Lo – Garlen Lo (
Jelly Journeys – Joe Allam (
Go Eat Do – Stuart Forster (
The Girl Outdoors – Sian Lewis (

Consumer Magazine Section of the Year
Harper’s Bazaar
Town & Country

Consumer Publication of the Year – Print
Culture Trip
Adventure Travel
The Sunday Times Magazine
Which? Travel

Consumer Publication of the Year – Online
BBC Travel
Condé Nast Traveller
Suitcase Magazine
The Telegraph

Customer Magazine
Atlas – Etihad Airways
Audley Traveller – Audley Travel
easyJet Traveller – easyJet
N by Norwegian – Norwegian
Other Shores – ITC Travel

Guide of the Year – Book, Online, App
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide New York City
Insight Guides Madagascar
Lonely Planet’s Global Distillery Tour
Lonely Planet’s Ultimate Eats
Travel Writer’s Field Guide

Breaking Travel News
Francesca Street, CNN Travel
Guy Hobbs, Which? Travel
James Draven, National Geographic Traveller (UK)
Jo Rhodes, Which? Travel
Simon Calder,

Broadcast Programme of the Year – TV, Radio, Online
St Kitts Music Festival for BBC Radio Kent
Michael Palin in North Korea for Channel 5
Tokyo Paralympics 2020, The Travel Show for BBC
Wolf Howling in Sweden for BBC Radio 4
Great Canal Journeys for Channel 4

Consumer Writer of the Year
Katie Bowman, The Sunday Times Travel Magazine
Michelle Jana Chan, Vanity Fair
Tom Capon, Gay Star News
Tristan Kennedy, freelance travel writer
Adrian Phillips, freelance travel writer

National Broadsheet Newspaper Section
The Telegraph
Telegraph on Sunday
The Sunday Times
The Times

National Consumer Feature of The Year
Claire Dodd for ‘Marfa, Alpine and Marathon’ for
David Whitley for ‘The Wild Zone Beyond the Wall’ for National Geographic Traveller (UK)
Emma Thomson for ‘Is Greenland the new Iceland’ for The Sunday Telegraph
Jamie Lafferty for ‘The World Nomad Games’ for Culture Trip
Oliver Berry for ‘Walking with the Emperors’ for Lonely Planet

National Tabloid Newspaper Section
Daily Mail
The Mail on Sunday
The Sun
The Sun on Sunday

Photography Award
Aron Klein for ‘Go to the Mountain’ in Suitcase Magazine
Bella Falk for ‘Glamping in the Sahara Desert, Morocco’ in
Jonathan Gregson for ‘The Hunt’ for Lonely Planet
Mark Leaver ‘Treasure Island’ for Suitcase Magazine
Phoebe Smith for ‘On the Tail of Whale’ for Wanderlust

Regional Publication Feature of the Year
Ben Lerwill for ‘Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Uganda: A Walk in the Woods’ for Escapism
Ian Belcher for ‘Alternative Caribbean’ for Brummell Magazine
Jeremy Lazell for ‘Fun in the Jungle’ for The Sunday Times, Scotland
Lydia Winter for ‘Still Waters Run Deep’ for Escapism
Tom Powell for ‘The Intrepid Series’ for Escapism

Specialist Travel Writer of the Year
Amanda Ruggeri, Food Travel
Amelia Duggan, Latin America
Ella Buchan, Food Travel
Monisha Rajesh, Train Travel
Phoebe Smith, Wildlife Conservation

Trade Feature of the Year
Daniel Allen for ‘Stepping Lightly’ for ABTA Magazine
Frances Marcellin for ‘Meet the new Royal baby: Symphony of the Seas’ for Future Cruise
Stuart Forster for ‘Take the Plunge in New Zealand’ for Solus Magazine
Sue Bryant for ‘Edge of Tomorrow’ for Cruise Adviser
Lauren Jarvis for ‘Back from the Beyond’ for Selling Canada

Trade Publication of the Year – Online

Trade Publication of the Year – Print
ABTA Magazine
Buying Business Travel
Cruise Adviser
Selling Canada
The Business Travel Magazine

Trade Writer of the Year
James Chapple, TTG
Jennifer Morris, TTG
Megan Tatum, Buying Business Travel
Mike MacEacheran, TTG
Sam Ballard, Cruise Adviser

Young Writer of the Year
Amelia Duggan, freelance travel writer
India Dowley, Suitcase Magazine
Kate Hamilton, easyJet Traveller
Lottie Gross,
Lydia Winter, Escapism

Special Contribution Award
Hilary Bradt, Bradt Travel Guides

The Travel Media Awards look forward to welcoming all shortlisted entrants to the ceremony on 21 October at the five-star Landmark London.

Tickets now available:

Key dates for the 2019 Travel Media Awards:

21 October: Awards ceremony at Landmark London,

For more information and tickets, please visit or contact:
T: 020 3818 5600
E: [email protected]

Notes for Editors

The 2018 awards received more than 700 entries, and culminated in a glittering awards ceremony attended by some 300 travel media and industry professionals. The event saw Lisa Minot, travel editor of The Sun, receive the Special Contribution Award.

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015, celebrating the very best of the travel media sector. Free of charge to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers to enter, the Awards are a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards are owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited.

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites.

Travega offers a wide range of marketing solutions within both the leisure and business travel sectors, including revenue generation for some of the UK’s leading travel industry events, alongside bespoke partner event creation and third party event management.