Continuing to celebrate the best of the travel media sector

In light of the current coronavirus crisis, the decision has been made to move the Travel Media Awards to Monday 25 January 2021.

The only UK national awards recognising excellence and achievement within all forms of the travel media, the 21 award category winners of the Travel Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at Kimpton Fitzroy London Hotel.

Now in its sixth year, the Travel Media Awards is respected and trusted throughout the industry, thanks to a rigorous judging process and constantly evolving category list that keeps it relevant in an ever-changing market.

Giles Harper, co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of Travega, said, “Due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, we’ve taken the decision to postpone the Travel Media Awards until 25 January 2021; we love bringing the travel media sector together as one and this will give us the best opportunity of doing so.”

Matthew Jackson, joint co-founder of the Travel Media Awards and managing director of APL Media Limited, said: “We’re proud of the opportunity the Travel Media Awards offers to shine the spotlight on the exceptional talent in the travel media industry. This decision will ensure we can take time to celebrate the brilliant work our entrants have produced.”

The awards are judged by some of the UK’s most influential travel figures from a wide cross section of the industry, alongside travel editors and writers; unique to the Travel Media Awards is its commitment that 25% of all judges are new to the awards, and that no one judges the same category year on year, a policy well received by award entrants.

Key dates for the 2020 Travel Media Awards:

 9 November 2020 — finalists announced
23 November 2020 — recipient of Special Contribution Award announced
25 January 2021 — awards ceremony takes place

For more information, visit or contact:
T: 020 3818 5600
E: [email protected]

Notes for Editors

The Travel Media Awards was launched in 2015 to celebrate the very best of the travel media sector. Open to all travel writers, broadcasters and photographers, the awards acts as a true barometer of the travel media sector. The Travel Media Awards is owned and operated under a joint venture agreement between Travega and APL Media Limited.

The 2019 awards culminated in a glittering ceremony attended by more than 300 travel media and industry professionals; The evening saw 21 publications, broadcasters, journalists and photographers awarded prestigious trophies. They included Hilary Bradt, founder of Bradt Travel Guides, who was presented with the Special Contribution Award.

APL Media Limited works across the travel and lifestyle sectors in a number of media, from print through to events. APL Media produces the award-winning National Geographic Traveller (UK), National Geographic Traveller Food, Postcards, and a series of lifestyle newspaper supplements, apps and websites.

Travega offers a wide range of travel marketing and sales solutions for both the leisure and business travel sectors; these include creating and delivering sponsorship revenues for some of the leading events in the UK travel industry, including the ABTA Travel and UKinbound Conventions, alongside the management of events for other leading travel brands.