Metro win just the beginning

Metro win just the beginning

Metro was named National Tabloid Newsprint Section of the Year at the 2022 Travel Media Awards, taking the paper’s total number of wins in this category to six. Travel editor Laura Millar is looking forward to throwing her hat in the ring again in 2023. We caught up with her to find out more.

Why did you enter the TMAs?
I’ve entered every year since I took over as Metro’s travel editor in 2018, mainly because I’m very proud of the section and what it offers — including, crucially, value for money. I’ve always had the readers’ wallets and budgets at the forefront of my mind when planning content, and that’s never been more important than right now. I hope that others find it enjoyable, informative, interesting and useful, too.

What does it mean to you to have won this award?
As ever, it means a lot; to be acknowledged by the industry is very important, because we’re all one community and never has that felt truer than during the past few years where we’ve collectively weathered the storms of the pandemic, the Ukraine war and the cost-of-living crisis. To be able to provide inspiration to people who still want to travel, and still believe in travel, despite the many obstructions that have often seemed to be put in its way, is immensely fulfilling.

Will you be entering again this year?
I certainly will, as aiming for this award keeps me striving to make the section the best it can be. Fingers crossed I can make it happen in 2023! The opening date for entries to the 9th annual Travel Media Awards will be announced in the coming weeks.

About the 2022 Travel Media Awards
With Morocco as headline sponsor, the winners of the eighth annual Travel Media Awards were announced at The Dorchester on 26 September 2022. The ceremony was attended by over 300 of the UK’s leading travel media, PRs and travel industry suppliers.

As the only UK media event that solely recognises editorial excellence and achievement, 22 publications, broadcasters, journalists and photographers were honoured with a prestigious award.